Select Page

Need this assignment done for you, 100% original and Plagiarism Free? Order Now

.Order here

Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia are the three countries in the Baltic region, called the Baltic States. While Lithuania got independence on 11 March 1990. Estonia and Latvia had the Declaration of Independence on 20th and 21 August 1991. Lithuanian population of almost 3 million people comprises around 8 percent of Russians, 6 percent of Poles, and the remaining are native Lithuanians. The country was independent of the year 1918 until the soviet occupation from 1945 to 1991. (Samuolyte, 2011)After formally incorporating Baltic States into USSR during 1940, Stalin unleashed a wave of terror in these states with the systematic destruction of political institutions and prosecution of the military as well as cultural persons of importance.